Table laid in Gurtners restaurant
A large wooden table in the middle of the restaurant Gurtners
24-hour braised beef rib with vegetables and a glass of wine

Gurtners restaurant

Good food lovingly prepared

Reserve a table

Stunning view over Bern

Welcome to Gurtners. With a wink of the eye, the Gurtner family takes guests on a journey into the past of Bern’s local mountain. Under the motto “good food lovingly prepared”, traditional homemade dishes are give a modern twist while one or two other hearty recipes of Grandmother Gurtner are included on the menu that changes every month.

Gurtners offer
Whether you are looking for a romantic dinner for two, brunch with the entire family, a business lunch during a workshop or a special offer on Mondays, you will enjoy a relaxed visit with regional dishes.

Terrace with lounge
We serve you our specialties while you take in the unique view over the entire City of Bern, listen to idyllic music and fill up on pure mountain air. Regardless of whether you want lunch, dinner, a snack or an aperitif, we will give you a warm welcome every day and any time of year on our large terrace with lounge.

COVID-19 certificate

For admission to Gurtners restaurant, you must present a valid COVID-19 certificate that you have been vaccinated, tested or have recovered from the virus.

Monday to Saturday: 10:30 a.m.–2 p.m.
6 p.m.–11 p.m.
Sunday:  11 a.m.–5 p.m.
From 2 p.m. to 6 p.m., we serve a small afternoon menu.

Once upon a time there was a young couple. She came from an old Bernese family while he was the orphaned descendant of a farrier. She was promised to the son of a Zurich businessman and so the two lovers had to meet in secret. The abandoned tavern on the nearby mountain provided refuge from the suspicions of the aristocrats and local gossips.

One foggy day, a country policeman from Gürbetal lost his way and wanted to wait in the tavern for the weather to clear. He surprised the young couple who were stoking a fire in the stove. “Don’t I know you?” he asked a little sharply. Without reserve and with considered cunning, the young women answered: “I will forgive you because you do not know where you are because of the fog. We are the Gurtners and we are the fifth generation of our family to run this tavern. This mountain was named after us. And you don’t recognize us?” The policeman let his eyes wander over the dusty pans and said: “Make me something delicious and I will believe you.” So as not to give themselves away, the young couple set to work to prepare a wonderful meal. She rinsed the pans and washed the carrots that were still stored in the cellar. He picked mushrooms in the forest clearing, brought celeriac from the edge of the path and leeks from the neighbor’s field.

No one knows whether it was hospitality or a certain ingredient that made the meal so unforgettably delicious. But that evening in the city, the policeman enthusiastically told his story of the Gurtners and the excellent food. More and more people would climb the Gurten to dine and spend an enjoyable moment. The young couple married, called themselves Gurtner and offered everyone on the mountain a wonderful place to enjoy a rest and their delicious food. They welcomed hikers, travelers and even secret lovers, providing them with an unforgettable stay far from the hubbub on the cobbled streets of the city.

The Gurtners’ dishes are still on our menu today. It reminds us that good stories can also be invented, as long as the fairy tale of hospitality and pleasure for all guests comes true on the Gurten.

You can buy vouchers for Gurtners restaurant and special vouchers for the Höi-Gflüschter, the Monday special or Gurtners Sunday brunch in our online shop.

Order a voucher

Yes, you can take your dog into the restaurant, but not to the buffet.

No, only brunches are served on the Gurten in all venues. You can eat lunch in the Tapis Rouge self-service restaurant, but cannot reserve a table.

We offer people celebrating their birthday or anniversary a small surprise dessert. Please indicate that you are celebrating a birthday or anniversary when making the reservation.

Yes, we cater to vegans. If you reserve early, we can offer you additional dishes. Please contact us in advance. Our meat-free Kulturschür brunch is ideal for vegetarians.

Yes, we have a range of alternatives. Ideally, you should notify us of your requirements when making the reservation or speak to our service staff on site.

Yes, of course. Our vouchers can still be redeemed after the expiration date. Please note that the prices may have changed in the meantime. Depending on this, you may be required to pay a small surcharge.

News from Gurtners

Getting here

The easiest way to find us. There are parking spaces right next to the Gurtenbahn funicular valley station.

More

A diagram with an overview of how best to get to the Gurten. By public transportation or car, the Gurten is ideally located.

Tables dressées dans le salon du Restaurant Gurtners
Une grande table en bois au milieu du Restaurant Gurtners
Côte de bœuf braisée 24 heures avec des légumes et un verre de vin

Restaurant gurtners

De bonnes choses préparées avec amour

Réserver une table

La plus belle vue sur Berne

Bienvenue chez les Gurtners. Non sans humour, la famille Gurtners vous invite à l’accompagner lors d’un voyage dans le passé de la montagne bernoise. Conformément à la devise «De bonnes choses préparées avec amour», des plats faits maisons éprouvés sont réinterprétés et l’un ou l’autre plat copieux de la grand-mère Gurtner est intégré dans la carte qui change tous les mois.

Offres du Gurtners
Qu’il s’agisse d’un souper romantique à deux, d’un brunch avec toute la famille, d’un repas d’affaires pendant l’atelier ou d’offres spéciales le lundi, profitez d’un moment de détente avec des plats régionaux.

Terrasse avec lounge
Nous vous servons nos spécialités, tandis que vous profitez d’une vue incomparable sur la ville de Berne, que vous écoutez une musique idyllique et que vous respirez le bon air de la montagne: repas du midi ou du soir, snack ou apéritif – nous vous accueillons dans les meilleures conditions sur notre grande terrasse avec lounge, en fonction de l’heure et de la saison. 

Certificat Covid-19

Pour accéder le restaurant Gurtners, vous avez besoin d’un certificat Covid-19 valable, précisant que vous êtes vacciné(e), testé(e) ou guéri(e).

Du lundi au vendredi: 18 h 00 à 23 h 00
Dimanche:  11 h 00–17 h 00
Nous servons une petite collation l’après-midi de 14 h 00 à 18 h 00.

Il était une fois un jeune couple. Elle est issue de la noblesse bernoise, lui le fils orphelin d’un maréchal-ferrant. Elle était promise au fils d’un marchand zurichois, aussi les deux amoureux devaient-ils se rencontrer en secret. L’auberge abandonnée sur la montagne bernoise leur permit d’échapper à la suspicion de la noblesse et aux commérages.

Par une journée de brouillard, un gendarme du Gürbetal perdit son chemin à cause de la mauvaise visibilité et décida d’attendre une accalmie dans l’auberge. Il surprit le jeune couple qui attisait justement un feu dans le poêle de la cuisine. «Ne devrais-je pas vous connaître?» demanda-t-il assez sèchement. La jeune femme lui répondit sans aucune crainte et avec une malice réfléchie: «Je veux bien vous excuser parce que vous ne savez pas où vous êtes à cause du brouillard. Nous sommes les Gurtners et nous tenons cette auberge depuis cinq générations. C’est d’après nous que cette montagne a été appelée. Et vous, ne nous connaissez-vous pas?» Méfiant, le gendarme balaya les marmites poussiéreuses du regard et déclara: «Dans ce cas, préparez-moi un bon repas et je vous croirai.» Afin de ne pas se trahir, le jeune couple se lança dans la préparation d’un somptueux repas. Elle lava les marmites et les carottes entreposées à la cave, lui partit cueillir des champignons en lisière de forêt, ramasser du céleri-rave au bord du chemin et des poireaux dans le champ du voisin.

Nul ne sait si c’est l’hospitalité ou un certain ingrédient qui rendit les plats aussi bons. Mais dès le soir, le gendarme plein d’enthousiasme parla en ville des Gurtners et de leur délicieux repas. De plus en plus de personnes se rendirent sur le Gurten pour y déguster un bon repas. Le jeune couple finit par se marier, prit le nom de Gurtner et proposa à tous un magnifique endroit sur la montagne bernoise pour se reposer tout en profitant d’un délicieux repas. Les Gurtners accueillirent des randonneurs, des voyageurs, voire des couples secrètement amoureux et leur préparèrent un séjour inoubliable, loin du piétinement des chevaux dans les rues pavées de la ville.

Aujourd’hui encore, le menu des Gurtners figure sur notre carte. Il rappelle que les bonnes histoires peuvent également être le fruit de l’imagination, tant que le conte de l’hospitalité et du plaisir se répète pour tous les visiteurs.

 

Vous pouvez acheter des bons pour le restaurant Gurtners et des bons spéciaux pour le Höi-Gflüschter, le lundi des gourmets ou le brunch dominical au Gurtners dans notre boutique en ligne.

Commander un bon

Oui, vous pouvez venir au restaurant avec votre chien, mais il ne doit cependant pas s’approcher du buffet.

Non, tous les restaurants du Gurten proposent un brunch le dimanche. Vous pouvez prendre le repas de midi dans le restaurant self-service Tapis Rouge, mais vous ne pouvez pas réserver de table.

Toutes les personnes qui fêtent leur anniversaire reçoivent un petit dessert surprise. Veuillez indiquer lors de la réservation que vous fêtez un anniversaire.

Oui, nous proposons des plats végans. En cas de réservation précoce, nous pouvons vous proposer des plats supplémentaires. Veuillez nous contacter à l’avance. Notre brunch sans viande du Kulturschür se prête également aux végans.

Oui, nous avons différentes alternatives. Dans l’idéal, vous nous communiquez vos besoins dès la réservation ou vous adressez sur place à nos collaborateurs du service.

Oui, volontiers. Nos bons peuvent être utilisés, même après leur date d’expiration. Notez que les prix peuvent avoir changé entre-temps. Le cas échéant, vous devrez régler un modeste supplément.

Actuellement au Gurtners

Arrivée

Voici comment nous trouver aisément. Des places de parc sont disponible directement à côté de la gare inférieure du funiculaire du Gurten.

Plus

Un graphique indiquant comment se rendre le plus facilement sur le Gurten. Que ce soit en transport public ou en voiture – le Gurten est idéalement situé.